Events · Memoirs · Photo Journal · Travel

Events: Double M Rodeo

 

2016 DMRodeo1503

I love myself a good rodeo and that’s just what I saw a couple weeks ago! A friend invited us out to the Double M Rodeo in Ballston Spa, NY. We threw on our boots and cowboy hats and off we went! It was a rootin’ tootin’ helluva time! The food was good, the music was good, the entertainment was good. It had everything you would want from a rodeo, bull riding, barrel racing, team roping, and even trick riding! We had fun! It was difficult to get pictures as the evening grew darker. We also sat on the very bottom row of the bleachers so I had the pleasure of trying to photograph through the fence and everyone walking by. Oh joy! I still managed to get a few good ones though!

Have you ever been to a rodeo? Or maybe you’ve competed in one before? Share your story below in the comments! Thanks for reading!

Until next time,

“I guess it’s like Bull Ridin’. You gotta stay on and try not to get bucked off.”

2016 DMRodeo1593

2016 DMRodeo1493

2016 DMRodeo1671

2 thoughts on “Events: Double M Rodeo

  1. I used to enjoy going to the rodeo, but now, I’m very sensitive and more aware of how humans use animals for their own entertainment, mostly in cruel and violent ways. It’s just too hard for me to enjoy those events because of my empathy for the animals.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve been feeling the same way- I tried to ignore that feeling as I was thinking about it the whole time I was writing this post. I was a little ashamed that I had fun. In a sad way, that’s why I liked my photo I used for the header- It shows the expression of the steer very clearly and I felt bad for it. But on a lighter note, aside from being chased around and the use of bucking straps, there wasn’t anything abusive going on. All the animals seemed very well cared for.

      Like

Leave a Reply

